December 06

Go to Hell

Gesture and sound on the threshold.

The Six Tones group



Date and time: 7pm – Friday, Dec. 6th 2013

Venue: Nha San Collective &Tadioto - 2nd & 3rd, Block A, 9 Tran Thanh Tong, Hanoi.


Go to Hell is an installation and performance work set on the threshold between gesture and sound and between the worlds of the dead and the living.The three musicians of the Vietnamese/Swedish group The Six Tones move through the subterranean landscape of the dismantled R1 nuclear reactor like mythological after-images. Fragments from the myth of Orpheus are double-exposed with the tale of a beheaded ghost from Vietnamese Tuong theatre. Evoked by the potential danger of the location, the audience is invited to explore an interactive and open form installation that relates to ancient myth and its bearings on experimental art of today. The choreographies and video art all relate to the gestural and conceptual content of Toccata Orpheus, a composition for guitar solo by the German composer Rolf Riehm.


In Toccata Orpheus, it is the radical expression of the lyre player’s art that threatens the order of the underworld. Orpheus plays a high-risk game and exposes all the tricks of his musical and scenic skills expressed in intense choreographies of hand and arm movements. A new sound and video installation, by Anders Elberling and Henrik Frisk, an interactive electronic soundscape in the space are derived from analysis of video recordings and of motion tracking data from performance of Riehm’s composition. The fragile plucked sounds and the details of gesture are transposed into an interactive multimedia composition of light, video, sound and movement in Go To Hell.


Đàntranh: Nguyen ThanhThuy

Electronic music: Henrik Frisk

Choreographer: Marie Fahlin

Monochord: Ngo Tra My

Guitar: Stefan Östersjö

Video: Anders Elberling



Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn